Graduate Teaching Course Load

Hi friends,

Just curious, but what is the teaching load required for funding at your school? Obv. this varies from package to package, and if you don't want to share which school you go do, that's super cool.

Where I'm coming from: I was offered a package where I would teach my own class right of the bat this upcoming fall, and if I had testicles, they'd have climbed up between my lungs for comfort. Is this normal? Not my imaginary testicles thing, but conducting your own class first thing?

I am starting an MA and even so, I have to teach my own class starting this fall :mellow: I didn't think such a thing was possible. 

I was an elementary school teacher so I know what it feels like to lead a classroom, but the thought of 23 college freshmen staring back at me (in a foreign country!!!) makes me quite nervous. 

I guess we will be fine?! 

@Diagon, I hope so! I taught years ago, and the first semester was horrible. The second wasn't. I've never taken the course I'd be teaching, so I'm super nervous about the learning curve.

College freshman are almost as unhygienic as elementary students, so there's that :)

When you say teach your own class do you mean one where you select the subject or just one where you are the lecturer? I believe that most programs have you do the latter in your 2/3 or 3/4 year, with the possibility of the former or latter in the 5/6 year. I'm in an MA and will be tesching a class next year, but the syllabus is preselected.