Engineering Undergrad low GPA

superbored

Hey Guys! I am currently a Civil Engineering undergrad at Berkeley who also happens to be an international student! I'm currently finishing up my sophomore year and my Cumulative GPA is about a 3.4, with a 3.2 Technical GPA(I took one or two  "easy" non technicals that gave it a slight boost). I was initially pretty certain that I wanted to go to Grad School(engineering), but I'm honestly discouraged about my GPA severely limiting my grad school options.

Does anyone know if Upper division courses are more heavily taken into consideration by grad school admissions committees? And do they factor in where you went for undergrad? I know I this will sound whiny but Berkeley really does have a culture of grade deflation(especially for lower div courses), and I was just wondering if grad school admins have any information regarding grading policies for different schools. It just seems weird because I feel like someone with a 3.5 from a tier 1 school would (probably) be more academically successful in a grad school than someone with the same GPA from a not-as-rigorous school.

I don't know if I will be able to significantly pull up my GPA to the above 3.5 mark, because I feel like I'm maxing out already. I also plan to do research in the remaining two years,have a few cool extracurriculars and will hopefully be able to do really well on the GREs? I would also appreciate any tips for how to  get into grad school when you don't have a stellar GPA(although it seems like this forum would have plenty of posts about that already).

Also, I hope I am not coming across as arrogant in any way, just wanted some information and am low-key depressed because Cal's making me feel really stupid haha.

Thanks in advance!

• 2 weeks later...