Science Fiction Literature, Anyone?

Hello!

I am a current graduate student (my MA will be completed by Spring 2018) and I'm looking to apply for doctoral programs later this year.  As it stands, much of my graduate course work and my thesis are dealing with contemporary science fiction literature in various forms.  By the application season I will have made multiple conference appearances for my work in the field. All that is left is finding the right school that will allow me to continue my work. Do any of you have any suggestions on where I should look into applying? Thank you so much for any help/advice!

Hi There @riot_grrrl88! The U of Florida has a Science Fiction working group that may be of interest to you (http://sciencefiction.group.ufl.edu/about/).  I can't tell you much about it as I'm starting there in the Fall, but it may help as a jump-off point as you start looking at programs. :) I'd also recommend looking into S.F. scholars you admire/would like to work with and see where they may be teaching. 

Off the top of my head--Ohio State, Florida, Maryland, and Kansas has the Gunn Center (http://www.sfcenter.ku.edu/)...

And to be very honest with you, any program with a strong 20th-century program will be able to support you in science fiction. It's not as off-the-beaten path as it was even 10 years ago (when I started grad school). I know a lot of people who do speculative fiction without a lot of faculty oversight. It's very much a growing field--perhaps because English enrollments are down nationwide and adding science fiction courses has been a way for departments to attract undergrads looking to take a fun elective. I'd actually be surprised if there were that many programs out there that would just say, "No, we don't do that."