Upward trend, masters vs. phd, fellowships, and general advice

deleteaccount

Hey guys! Tell me if there's any other info I should add.

BACKGROUND

I started off as a pre-med psychology major and ended up switching to computer science and psychology my sophomore year. I'm hoping to go to graduate school in a human-computer interaction field (end goal PhD). Some schools have this as a concentration while others just have general CS. I have a decent amount of research experience. Prior to sophomore year, I had some research assistantships, but they were unrelated to what I want to do today as they were more related to my prior pre-med interests. Also, I'm currently a junior.

Research:

I have had an ongoing project at my school this past year and a half that I just finished. I presented my research at a research symposium at my school (with a poster). I also worked as a research assistant last summer at a top HCI school. I have yet to be published, but I have another research assistantship this upcoming summer that should hopefully result in one. I plan to use each of these research assistantships as LORs for when I apply.

GPA

My freshman year is my anchor with my GPA. Right now I have a 3.57, though it should hopefully rise above a 3.6 by the end of this semester. 

F14: 2.96

S15: 3.67

F15: 3.711

S16: 3.80

F16: 3.70

S17: Expecting around a 3.8

Other possibly relevant info:

I go to a top 15 school overall for undergrad and a top 20 school for CS grad.

I am an URM female, so I don't know exactly how that affects my chances.

QUESTIONS:

Even without my freshman year, my GPA isn't THE best, but I'm curious whether my upward trend will be positively noted, especially since I wasn't studying my main focus during that year. I was taking many pre-med classes (general chemistry and physics).