Hi everyone,

I have recently been looking into becoming an Art Conservator / Restorer however I can't seem to find very much information pertaining to my current situation.  I am hoping someone here is able to help me.

I have an undergraduate degree in a non-related field (psychology) and would like to know what I need to do in order to become an art conservator.  The only post baccalaureate program that I can find is the one year program at SACI in Florence, Italy but I am wondering if there are any other options for me other than this one route.  It seems very unlikely that I would be able to enter directly into a masters program but at the same time it seems to be overkill to have to obtain another undergraduate degree.

Any direction would be very much appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Sincerely,

Kadin Goldberg

What sort of conservation are you interested in? Have you taken any art history courses before? How are your science grades? I ask about science because if I remember correctly, conservation programs require knowledge of chemistry/physics. I don't think you'd necessarily need to get another complete undergraduate degree in order to be accepted into a conservation program, but you might need to take additional courses (either before applying or after acceptance) in order to enter grad. school at a similar level of knowledge to other incoming students. It might be really helpful for you to ask the conservation programs you are interested in what additional coursework/experience you might need in order to qualify for admission.

As far as other programs, I don't know whether you are in the United States, but the School of the Art Institute of Chicago has a Master of Science in Historic Preservation. The SAIC is an awesome school overall, though I admittedly know very little about this specific degree program.