Asking for a gap year between MA and PhD?

holi10

Question

I am writing because I was hoping to get some opinions from other graduate students on my current situation. I am a second-year MA student in Hispanic Linguistics and I will be finishing up my MA in the spring of '18. I have already been awarded a post-doctoral fellowship that will be granted to me after I finish up my dissertation in the PhD program. Currently, I am wanting to take a year after completing my MA to study in Spain for a year at the Universidad de Salamanca to complete a year Master in Teaching Spanish as a Foreign Language, given that it would give me time to make some academic contacts abroad, take classes associated my areas of study (Second Language Acquisition and Spanish Pedagogy) and better my Spanish. In our program, a lot of students take a year before the PhD or during the PhD to study and work as an English teacher in Spain, Mexico or Costa Rica. I am interested in doing the same, however, my option or "program" would not be associated with the University.  In other words, I would be going about it on my own and asking to defer entrance into the PhD program. Many people ask me why I do not want to do one of the University programs and it is because you have to teach English. I taught English for a year in Spain and I truly did not like it. My passion is teaching Spanish and not English and I do not feel "comfortable" spending the majority of my time devoted to planning English classes when my goal of being in Spain is to better my Spanish.