Jobs and relevant experience

speechfan222

I will be starting a Masters program in Sociology this fall and have a Bachelors degree in another field. I also dont have any experience in the field. I have been looking at data analysis and data research positions just to see what is required and to learn more about job requirements. Most jobs that require an MA degree also require experience in the field. If I dont have my MA degree yet, how can I even get experience to prepare me for a job opportunity once I have my degree? I want to work on experience now but it doesnt seem like I can gain experience without having an MA degree in the field. It feels like Im going in a big circle and Im new to this field. How can I gain experience needed?  Please help!! 

Can somebody please give me suggestions on this? I contacted an advisor from the university where I will be starting an online program this Fall. She informed me that students can apply for positions while their Masters degree is in progress, but I found a few positions this morning that require a few years experience.

Does anyone know how I can obtain ANY experience without having experience or a Masters degree?!?!?

Are you primarily hoping to get a job as a data analyst or data researcher? If so, I don't see a Sociology master's as the best entry point to those jobs. You'd probably be better off looking at data science or information master's programs. For a relatively unskilled applicant, the best way to get experience is to apply for internships or to find opportunities through your university (e.g. as a work-study or as a research assistant). You might also consider the field(s) that you would like to eventually work in. If you're hoping to enter the non-profit world, for example, you might look into working, interning, or volunteering with a local org to show that you have experience in the field, more generally speaking.

Ahhh. This information definitely helps. Thanks!