Prospective applicant looking for MPP advice

Hey guys, hoping I can get some advice on here for my applications to MPP programs. I'm literally just starting the process and am simply looking for some advice/direction.

My application background is as follows:

Undergrad school: University of Chicago (degree in economics)

GPA: 3.1

Work Experience: currently two years in the private sector (both are fairly notable jobs). I'm currently a senior manager overseeing a $50M yearly advertising budget and two employees at a startup.

GRE: 168Q/162V w/ 5.0 writing

Volunteer/Public Service experience: none since graduating college. I was much more involved in volunteering in college (tutored for all 4 years) but once I started working, I didn't really have time nor was I planning on applying to MPP programs. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've come to realize that working in the for-profit space is not for me and will not satisfy me in the long-term. I'd like to transition to non-profit/policy/government roles, specifically in the econ development space. After graduating, I had always thought I would pursue an MBA or a business related masters (eg Masters in Financial Engineering) which is why I took the GRE and which is why I have very little volunteering/public service experience since graduating. I have a few questions that would be really helpful if answered:

(1) I believe the biggest holes in my applications are my GPA and my volunteering / public service experience. There is nothing I can do about my GPA now (hopefully my GRE scores can help offset) but in regards to volunteering / public service, I plan to get involved asap. However, if I am applying to graduate programs this fall, would 3-4 months of volunteering truly be enough to display my interest in transitioning from for-profit to non-profit work? If not, should I instead apply to programs in 2019?