Too old?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to grad cafe but have read a few posts by people asking about their chances of getting into certain PhD programs. In my case the problem is that’s I’m a bit older than most candidates (38 in October 2018) and was wondering whether I should even try applying.

Undergrad GPA: 3.3ish (still waiting for my credential evaluation from Spanish undergrad, a bit low but was working full-time)

Grad GPA: 3.92 (APUS, Honors, while working full-time)

Taking GRE next month.

Personal background: currently editorial consultant at multilateral institution in Southeast Asia, former news correspondent, 13 years in journalism/comms mainly in Asia

Applying to:

• University of Virginia
  • Rutgers
  • Penn State
  • Maryland
  • Delaware
  • SUNY Binghamton
  • Umass

My research interest is how China’s rise will affect the geopolitics of Asia, so kinda straddling IR & comparative. What do you think?

Thanks!

P.S. I hope to get my green card in November so I’ll be applying as a US permanent resident.

Edited by csantamir

For admission to the program, age should not matter. In fact, you could swing it to your advantage by mentioning how your professional experience relates to the program that your applying to.

To build on the above comment:

I asked one of my professors about entering a program after taking time off school (it'll be 2.5 years for me, so not as extreme as your case (but the work I'm doing is not at all relevant to political science or anything like that)) and she said they don't care at all. As a caveat, she did mention that attrition rates aren't high for older grad students because they tend to have more responsibilities (kids, wife, etc) and can't make the appropriate time commitment even if the student has the skills. She said they have admitted several 40+ year olds (top 20 program). So if you think you'll be able to manage the time commitment you should be fine.

10 hours ago, avflinsch said: