Theatre and Performance Studies Admissions AMA

Noe Montez

Hi I'm Noe Montez, Director of the PhD in Theatre and Performance Studies at Tufts. There seems to be a lot of questions and a lack of transparency in the graduate admissions process. I have been reviewing PhD applications for six years and wanted to create a space where I could answer any questions that you might have about the application and admissions process. The best way to make good application decisions is to make sure that people prepare the strongest applications possible. So as you prepare application materials, feel free to ask questions you may have about how graduate faculty read applications, what sorts of materials to submit, or anything else that you want to know.

Of course I'd also encourage you to look at the Tufts PhD in Theatre and Performance Studies http://dramadance.tufts.edu/graduate/ and to check out the YouTube videos that my colleagues and I have put together about the admissions process: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9js5V3BqCE8&index=1&list=PL7beqzWtdvNZMihHeEHdWuSMDPxou6ZOh

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K7EPHiAAmvc&index=5&list=PL7beqzWtdvNZMihHeEHdWuSMDPxou6ZOh

• 3 weeks later...

Its great to see you on here willing to talk with those of use looking to apply.  I am considering Tufts in addition to other schools, and I'm wondering about visiting the school before applying, and will it matter a great deal to meet potential faculty advisors prior to applying.

• 1 month later...

First off, this is absolutely wonderful of you and I know that I (and I'm sure many other students) really appreciate the offer, especially as application season gets underway.