Career change to SLP

Hi!

So I'm going to be applying to SLP Masters programs for next Fall, but worried because I have no educational background in SLP. I graduated last month with a BA in Communications; I realized too late that SLP is what I want to do for the rest of my life.

I'm wondering if anyone has any words of advice for someone like me? Like should I be enrolling in Post-BA programs before I jump into applying to schools? Every school that I am applying has its own set of prerequisites, but I'm still worried about my lack of education in this field.

I did not have a single CSD prerequisite completed before being accepted into a graduate program. I am taking all CSD-specific prerequisites this summer in a condensed format through my graduate program. I also applied to programs that extended the length of the graduate program to complete prereqs. I have an English degree. 

It is all a very personal choice. I chose to go this route because I am 28 and am ready to be in grad school. It limited the schools I could apply to but I am happy where it led me. It also meant there wasn't a chance I would have paid to do an entire year of classes to then not get accepted. But it depends on what is important to you! I will say that if you have time don't waste it—schools will like to see that you are working towards your goal (for example, last year I was working in a language clinic full-time and taking gen. ed. ASHA prereqs after work while also applying).

Do you have any SLP-related shadowing and/or volunteer experience? If not, I would work on getting some ASAP. You are going to need to convince the AdComm that you are serious in your desire to become a SLP and are not just going through normal 20something panic at having graduated & finding out that "the real world" isn't what you had hoped it would be.

I also have a BA in Communications, not SLP, and I'll be 30 this fall so it's definitely not too late for you :)