Sociology MS/PhD 2008 Applicants?

acoustic_mayhem

• Replies 119
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I considered applying to some sociology programs but decided against it because I don't have any real background in the discipline and my interest would be more qualitative, which is difficult to find. Good luck to all of you!

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Jason-- I get the sense that you need at least a 3.5 gpa and a 1200 total GRE in general to make it to the next level where they then weigh your statement of purpose, writing sample, and letters of rec to make a final decision. This is my first time applying though, so my thoughts are only coming from what I've read about other people's experience.

Good luck to you!

Will we be able to sell our current house?

Yuck! I wouldn't want to be asking myself that question given the current housing market. Personally, I'm hoping it tanks in the middle of next year so I can buy a condo to live in while working on my PhD...

Yuck! I wouldn't want to be asking myself that question given the current housing market. Personally, I'm hoping it tanks in the middle of next year so I can buy a condo to live in while working on my PhD...

Speaking as someone who currently works as an economist, the housing market is expected to bottom out in the 3rd quarter of 2008 in most areas. Incidentally, this is exactly when we will be heading off to our respective programs. Certain areas are not seeing any significant drop in prices. Generally these are the obvious places like big cities where housing is always in high demand. Towns with a heavy industrial (specifically non-durables) or agricultural base will see the largest decline in home prices, as those industries will suffer due to energy prices and weak consumer spending.

I'm going to stop now. I'm not at work and don't have to be there til 8:30