Reading abilities and Masters/PhD

1234thumbwar

Hello Everyone, 

I am very interested in pursuing a PhD in sociology as I absolutely love academia, especially anything related to sociological work. In my own research that I have done as an undergrad, I enjoy really getting out in the world and experiencing things first-hand. For instance, when I studied homelessness, I spent a few days living on the streets. When I studied bullying in high schools, I spent time in the schools observing and interviewing. So, as you can imagine, I am not much of a theoretical sociologist ahah;) 

I have mild dyslexia, along with another learning disability, meaning that complicated reading is not exactly easy for me. I can read most things fine, and relatively quickly also. However, when I read theoretical work by authors like Durkheim or Marx, I sometimes have a really hard time following what is going on in the book. When I learn about theory in classes I do really well, but thats because the professor teaches exactly what is being said within the book. 

Given that (so I am told) during a Masters and PhD one does all of the learning by oneself, I am feeling slightly nervous. I am concerned that my dyslexia will make it hard for me to understand the books I have to read for grad school in order to pass comprehensive exams and things of that sort. Will I still be able to get help and receive clarification about certain readings during my grad school, or will professors expect me to just 'get it' on my own? I suppose I am just wondering if it's possible to get through a masters and PhD with this learning disability? Other than my reading troubles, I am a straight A student and I've always gotten great grades on writing/research related tasks, so at least I have that going for me :lol:.

Thanks guys:)