Questions about PhD and research areas within Biomedical Engineering/Neuroscience

xicor

Hello Gradcafe, I decided around a couple months ago that I'm going to continue my education through a PhD but have some questions that I haven't found specific answers that I need to settle in order to find focus in the PhD application and my current job. For context I have a B.S in Physics from Clarkson University and a M.S in Biomedical Engineering from Drexel University where in my graduate studies I specialized in neuroengineering. I have been in contact with my former University about my interests but was told there wouldn't be funding in my area for awhile so some Professors there have suggested to continue my education at another University where I now have my recommendations in order. I graduated with my Biomedical engineering degree in 2016 and got a local job as a support role of analyzing scientific data for quality of the raw data and won't be starting the PhD until 2018.