Choice of Specialization

Hello all! I'm a rising senior studying English and I am pretty desperate for advice, specifically regarding choosing an area of interest. 

Everyone in my year seems to know exactly what they're doing and I'm starting to panic. I'm not questioning my overall goals; I know that I want to eventually get my PhD and become a professor at some point. I'm just having a hard time nailing down one area to study. My studies so far have been pretty general and, having switched majors, I feel like I've been playing catch-up for the past two years and haven't had time to specialize. I've managed to narrow the possibilities down to either Victorian or Renaissance literature, but I haven't done a huge amount of work in either of those areas. Should I take a year off to make up my mind? I love studying literature and I know I want to keep doing it, and a year away from academia just sounds frustrating to me. At the same time, I don't know if it's even possible for me to get my applications together this late in the game. 

I've spoken to several faculty members, and I have some advising me to wait a few years, one thrilled that I'm considering grad school at all, and one actually offering to help me with my application materials as soon as I return from study abroad in a month. As I said, I'm thoroughly confused and starting to panic, so any advice you can offer would be highly appreciated!

Edited by hopefullyyours