Gaining experience for a job

speechfan222

Hi everyone, 

I am interested in statistics and data collection/research jobs once I receive my Masters Degree in Sociology. I have been looking over a few job positions on various sites and most of them require 1-3+ years experience. I have a BS degree in another field and am somewhat new to Sociology. I don't have any experience. 

I found out from my program advisor that some companies will hire individuals who are currently in the process of completing their Master's degree. I already have a generic letter of intent that I can send to various companies. Would this be the best way to inform them that I'm interested in their position, don't have a Masters degree yet, but am completing it? 

I also heard that I can find volunteer activities or an internship, but I need to have at least 40 hrs/week for bills and get paid for them. 

Any help is appreciated. I'm really interested in several positions, but feel lost without having experience. And I don't know how to obtain any. 

Sometimes these companies will hire grad students as interns in the summer. Depending on the nature of your graduate program, you may or may not be able to do this while you are still a student. But I do know some people who intern for the summer immediately following their graduate program and then get hired into a full time position after that. 

For finding these positions, you can search for internship programs on their websites. The ones I've looked at generally have different internships for different levels of education (undergrad degree, masters/early grad student, and PhD/late grad student). You can also find the company's recruitment pages and reach out to the recruiters there. They are usually very interested in finding experienced researchers! In my field, these recruiters often also attend our national society's annual meetings and there are career fairs/booths where you can go and meet these recruiters in person!