When and how to contact POIs

hungrybear

Hi y'all,

I was wondering when a good time to contact (by e-mail) each of my POIs? I've already e-mailed some graduate students asking specifics about the program and their opinions on certain areas within the program, but that's about it. It's summer now, so I imagine my POIs are busy/relaxing. Nevertheless, I don't want to wait too long. 

My next question is: what is a good way to approach the e-mail? I'm a first-generation college student, so this particular step is incredibly vague. I don't want to send an e-mail saying, "Hi, my name is _____ and I admire your work. Don't keep reading this e-mail as this is obviously just a way to suck up to you." 

Some ideas I have come up with are:

Introducing who am I and basically why the particular program interests me. 

Asking if they are accepting students.

...and that's about it.

So how does one navigate this process? 

Thank you in advance. 

There have been posts relating to this question.  Look back in Fall 201(X) Applicants threads.  You'll find a wealth of information, if not daunting, shared by applicants and old-timers (like myself).  This is the kind of question that comes up every year.

6 hours ago, TMP said:

There have been posts relating to this question.  Look back in Fall 201(X) Applicants threads.  You'll find a wealth of information, if not daunting, shared by applicants and old-timers (like myself).  This is the kind of question that comes up every year.

I looked through the old posts (albeit briefly), but it seemed like most were about people who had already been in contact and not about initiating the contact. 

I will go back in and check, then. Thanks. 

Edited by miami421
grammar

It can be really hard to sort through those posts because there are SO many responses in a thread. I think it's nice to have a thread about this all together for future applicants.