MAT or MA in English before getting PhD?

Hi all,

I am very torn between pursuing a career in education (K-12) or in English academia.

I've been accepted to a Master of Arts in Teaching program in English (7-12) at an Ivy League school (Columbia University). I'm also interested in pursuing a PhD in English, as I majored in English in undergrad, and I wanted to become an English professor.  

Is it feasible to get a MAT in English Education (K-12) if I might be interested in pursuing a PhD in English? Or would you recommend that I reapply for a traditional Masters in English? 

I was considering teaching English at the community college level for a few years after earning my MAT for teaching experience before getting a PhD. Also, is teaching high school English for a few years considered useful/helpful in English PhD admissions?

I am still on the fence about my long-term goals between education and English academia - even if I chose to pursue a career in education, my end goal is to become a professor of education [educational leadership and policy] at a top research university.

Please feel free to send thoughts, advice, and best wishes! Thank you.

Edited by jc_63

In the end, I think you have to choose between the two paths. An MAT won't be that helpful in getting admission to an English PhD program, nor will teaching high school. It won't keep you from an English PhD program in the future, but it won't count too much towards your application. If you want to pursue education, then you're probably in good shape to do so; if you want to pursue a degree in English now, you probably should switch to an English MA (or apply to PhDs). 

Just a uh word of caution: jobs are rare in every field in academia, and you should think about whether or not you would want to pursue a PhD if a "top research university" spot never opens up for you down the road.