How much breadth in History of Christianity?

Pierre de Olivi

Hello everybody,

I'm a long-time lurker and first-time poster. I apologize in advance if my questions seem naïve or overly-ambitious, as I am still an undergraduate, although I have planned on an academic career in religion, specifically the history of Christianity, for a long time. Essentially what I am wondering is how much breadth in terms of different regions/time periods (although not really methodologies) in the history of Christianity one may expect to sustain or cultivate in graduate school, both Master's Programs and PhDs. I know that in general theses/dissertations are highly specialized, but also that one may have areas of research and teaching interest that are much wider than the dissertation.

The religious studies department at my college (a well-regarded SLAC) has several faculty members with multiple or very broad areas of interest and from my conversations with them I have gleaned that it is possible, but not always easy, to cultivate a wide breadth of interests in and after graduate school, but it will really depend on the program, the faculty I work with, and my own work ethic and ambition. However, I wanted to hear perspectives on this from current/prospective/recent graduate students, especially those who share my area of interest. Do you find you are able to cultivate broad research/teaching interests, especially if you work on the History of Christianity? How have you been able to do that? What areas do you specifically study or plan to research or teach about?