English undergrad considering Comm. grad studies

Hello everyone. This is my first post on this board.

I studied English literature in undergrad and did some undergraduate research and conference presenting in both literature and rhetoric/composition. As I was searching for English graduate programs, I felt that they might not be as a great a fit for me as I had hoped. While I love research and analyzing literature, my focus in analysis is almost always on specific language use and argument strategies, and I usually enjoy using new media texts more than literature. For example, one project I did focused on improving PR for my campus writing center. Another project was a literary reading of a video game with a central argument of video games as art.

As I am trying to articulate future research projects, I continue to return to an interest in studying political rhetoric, political literature, propaganda, and grassroots political movements. For example, one project I am interested in pursuing is studying the use of irony and memetic inside jokes as propaganda to demonize the other and create ideologically homogeneous in-groups on internet forums like Reddit's /r/The_Donald, /r/Conspiracy, or /r/Atheism. These issues do not fit as neatly into my favorite English departments as I would like, and I have been told by many people to consider Communications programs instead. As an English undergraduate, I never took Comm. coursework, so I am wondering if anyone has any advice on how well English undergrad studies transfers to Comm. graduate work.