Second Chances Personal Statement

Hi everyone
I am a grad student in Chem. Engineering funded by Scholarship from my country. I am in a very difficult situation now.

I got dismissed from my grad program. I am trying to apply to other Chem. Eng.  grad schools and I need to submit "special" Personal Statement.

I would be grateful if you could help me to fix my typo , grammar , or correct my mistakes
Thanks..................

If you hang around the barbershop long enough sooner or later you are going to get a haircut. That old saying which is also part of famous Denzel Washington commencement speech reminds me of what my parent used to say. My mother raised me to believe I could achieve the difficult things if I set my mind to it. She makes me believe in the power of passion, patience, and perseverance but she also reminded me that a belief will be tested with a lot of trials.

A graduate degree offers the opportunity to explore and better understand my field. I decided to continue my education in the United States with ZZZt scholarship. During my academic training as a Chemical Engineering Master’s student at the University of XXX I was facing difficulties I did not expect before. My transition was not as smooth as I wished. I could not focus on my study due to health issue along with shock that I faced as a person who came from the very different area and culture. Handling the courseload while suffer from the poor health condition at the same time was not easy for me.