Why haven't I found a job yet?

samman1994

Hello everyone,

Quick backstory:

I am an undergraduate with 3 years of research in a protein Biochemistry lab. I have some experience with cellular and molecular bio, and even some programming from this lab. However, I have a degree in Chemistry, not Biochemistry, so no cell, genetic, or molecular background. Everything i know about genes, proteins, and cells is all from the lab and self taught. 

Situation:

I have been looking for a R&D job that is basically in the biochemistry field in the pharma industry (only in vitro, don't want to work with animals). I have looked at everything from just molecular bio focused, to computational biology, to even analytical chemistry regarding proteins (purification only). As stated above, I have at least 3+ years of experience (academia not industry) and a BS in Chemistry. I have also applied to lab technicians at various universities. Yet despite all this, I have gotten very little job interviews after 2 months of looking and some 40+ applications sent. Now I know my application isn't all that amazing (I don't have any industry experience, and I am going into a field that is somewhat unrelated to my degree), but I fit almost all required and preffered descriptions of the jobs I apply to. Why am I not getting any response? 

Troubleshoot:

I have had my CV looked at, and have been told its good by multiple professors. One might assume my references might be poor, but no one has even called any of them yet. Again, I've had some interviews, just no emails back. I know it is difficult for an undergrad with no research experience to get a job in R&D, but I thought it was at least possible with enough time (considering most undergrads have very little lab experience anyways). My only explanation can be that I'm just being beaten by Master or PhD students. 

Question: