In need of guidance

Pabloo

Hello everyone,

I’m looking for some guidance on my potential prospects for grad school, and help on selecting the best route to get there. I apologise if this is a long read, but I want to provide as much information as possible to help guide the decision. Also, as a disclaimer I am a Canadian.

Undergrad:

I am about to complete my undergrad in the social sciences. I took the majority of my science & stats courses in my third year, performed poorly (3.0 in sciences/third year). I performed the best in my fourth year with a 3.7% and finished overall with a 3.3%.

Relative work Experience:

I completed a yearlong empirical thesis in a biological laboratory in my last year, no publication but my supervisor is reviewing the data.

I worked as a TA for one course as an undergrad.

I work fulltime with an organization that focuses on healthcare. I routinely meet with doctors, patients and community members alike. It was one of the physicians that upon hearing about my undergrad research and work experience, suggest that I reconsider applying to med school.

Alternative Routes Considered:

I have considered a MSc in Neuroscience, or a MPH/MSc in Epidemiology. I have a dwindling interest in this route, mainly due to my desire to work with people and research job prospects. However, this is where I conducted my thesis, and have a plethora of vocational experience related to it.

I have considered the MPH/MSc in Epidemiology most recently as the job prospects seem better and similar to my current duties. They combine the areas of research I’m interested in (experimental design, statistical analysis, data collection, public promotion) without the dissections.

Potential Plans:

I want to apply for fall 2018 induction, which means applying by this winter. Aside from my job, I have nothing else on my itinerary. I’m willing to put everything into getting in.