Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to start a forum on those waiting for admission to Fall 2018 University of Michigan School of Information Master's program! Here is a space for you to discuss your worries, get information from others applying, and ask about acceptances/denials. We're all in the same boat!

UMSI '18!!

Hi,

I'm so happy that you created this thread! I applied to Umich MSI in December, but haven't heard anything back yet. Hopefully the result will come out soon! Anyone got their results yet?  Btw, my background is in film production. :) 

Edited by cywa

I applied back in ~October. I asked admissions and they said around 6-8 weeks from the January 15th deadline, so we should start hearing back in the next few weeks, I hope! My background is in Psychology and Social Work, and not necessarily technology... I hope that won't hurt my application ?

4 hours ago, AspiringMSW/MSI said:

I applied back in ~October. I asked admissions and they said around 6-8 weeks from the January 15th deadline, so we should start hearing back in the next few weeks, I hope! My background is in Psychology and Social Work, and not necessarily technology... I hope that won't hurt my application ?

I think Psychology and Social Work is a good combination! Are you gonna focus on HCI? It seems like they take students from diverse backgrounds, so don't worry! 

21 hours ago, cywa said:

I think Psychology and Social Work is a good combination! Are you gonna focus on HCI? It seems like they take students from diverse backgrounds, so don't worry! 

That makes me feel a little better ^_^ I am sort of focusing on HCI, but it's more like UX/UI. I'll be very social- and accessibility-focused, though, because of my background in Psych/SW.

In other news, I was looking at the UMSI site today and saw this: https://www.si.umich.edu/news-events/events/msi-visiting-days-event-admitted-students

Anyone think we'll get to have this ??

On 2/22/2018 at 9:10 AM, AspiringMSW/MSI said: