Hey everyone - I realize it's only April, but I figured I'd get started on the HKS thread for 2019 matriculation. 

A little about me: I'm a 2010 grad from a competitive small liberal arts college, 2012 masters in city planning from an ivy (both with honors), worked in public finance consulting for three years, now working as a civil servant in a policy office in transportation. I'm active in a few LGBT causes, and have a fellowship with a large, international professional organization that focuses on urban revitalization. I'm taking the GRE in August. I'm attracted to HKS and other MPP programs that offer programs in domestic policy, economic development, and urban policy. I'm nervous but excited to go through the application process, and to be nearly 30(!). Currently brainstorming essay topics, and how to best hone my story.

What about you?

• 4 months later...

This is actually the post that made me get an account, might as well kick off the 2019 nail biting.

2014 grad from a state school better known for football than academics. Worked in  public planning for two years then got a big promotion to department head and an office in the city manager's suite. Been doing that about a year. I'm taking the GRE at the end of September.

I'll be applying to HKS and WWS for MPA as my hail marys. I'm hoping my dedication to public service and improvement from high school through college will sneak me in as my grades and practice (assuming they translate to real) GRE scores would have me around average.

I never thought I would be in a position where applying to these schools wouldn't be a waste of money and it's kinda stressful

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...