Fulbright 2019-2020

Chamkili

Salutations Fulbright Hopefuls!

The application cycle for this year is now open and most, if not all, of the applicants from last year's forum were already notified of their results. Congrats to last cycle's applicants because all of you are awesome!

Now, it's our turn to go on this journey! This is a great place to ask questions, understand the process, and just hang out. I look forward to hyperventil--I mean waiting with you all. 

Here's to hoping we make it! :D

This is my first time applying for the Fulbright so I'm learning as I go (kind of by lurking in previous years' forums). I'm applying for the ETA award, including the CLEA supplement, for India. I feel like there's a good chance since 25 awards were available last cycle. But, there were 80 for Japan (or was it Korea?)! So, the odds might be better if I applied to go there... I'm most likely going to stick with India though and work on my Hindi. What about you guys?

@Adelaide9216 You can apply to either France itself, or French speaking countries in Sub-Saharan Africa. You can even apply to Caribbean countries that speak French like Haiti. Below are the links to each region and the general requirements for the countries in that region. As long as you're still pursuing your doctorate's and don't already posses the degree, then you can apply. I hope this helps! 

Sub-Saharan countries: https://us.fulbrightonline.org/countries/selectedregion/23

Western Hemisphere (Caribbean) countries: https://us.fulbrightonline.org/countries/selectedregion/18

France: https://us.fulbrightonline.org/countries/selectedcountry/france

@Adelaide9216 Ah, I see. Well, not even residents are eligible to apply, only citizens. If you're a dual citizen that's a different story, but if you only have Canadian citizenship then I can only hope your country has research grant programs that they offer. I'm sorry to say that, unless I missed something, you can't take advantage of the Fulbright...:(