Hi,

I am taking a gap year and going to teach English abroad (great speech experience). I graduated with just under a 3.7 GPA, have strong letters of rec and experience and am hoping my essay is very telling of my passion. Unfortunately, I took the gre and got a 153 (61st) on verbal and 151(42nd) on math with a 5.0 (92nd) on AW. I am applying to competitive schools in NY and Boston. I am wondering if my GRE scores will hinder my applications even being read? or how much they matter?  SOS. If anyone was accepted/goes to any school in these cities please help :) 

I wasn't accepted into schools in those cities, but I would say that those scores are actually really good. You are well above the 50th percentile on 2 and the other score is still a very good score. I was told to shoot for 150s on verbal and quantitative and 4 or higher on AW. So in my opinion, I would say you are looking pretty good. I was in the 38th percentile for quantitative and I was accepted into 3/5 schools I applied to in Pennsylvania. I would just suggest to apply to a few less competitive schools that are maybe not in the city, that you would enjoy attending as "safety schools". I was advised to apply to both "reach" and "safety" schools to give myself the best chance. 

Best of luck to you!

On 8/13/2018 at 3:49 PM, katie_rose said:

Hi,

I am taking a gap year and going to teach English abroad (great speech experience). I graduated with just under a 3.7 GPA, have strong letters of rec and experience and am hoping my essay is very telling of my passion. Unfortunately, I took the gre and got a 153 (61st) on verbal and 151(42nd) on math with a 5.0 (92nd) on AW. I am applying to competitive schools in NY and Boston. I am wondering if my GRE scores will hinder my applications even being read? or how much they matter?  SOS. If anyone was accepted/goes to any school in these cities please help :)