Is getting a PhD worth it?

historygeek

I was scrolling through Reddit last night and came across a post in the r/AskHistorians subreddit: Why You Shouldn’t Get a PhD in History. The thread was disheartening, to say the least. It prompted me to wonder if getting my PhD is going to end up being worth it.

I love the process of history; I’m doing my thesis right now, and it’s been one of the most enjoyable experiences in my undergrad career. I would love to be in academia, to do research, to teach. I also have enjoyed my time as a tutor and shadowing teachers in the St. Louis Public School District and, though the work is tiring and the pay isn’t great, I can also envision myself as a social studies teacher.

I guess what I’m wondering is, if I don’t get into a top program, should I even bother doing the PhD? I’m also applying to TFA-like programs and for a masters in history education. I’d love to know your thoughts. 

14 minutes ago, historygeek said:

I was scrolling through Reddit last night and came across a post in the r/AskHistorians subreddit: Why You Shouldn’t Get a PhD in History. The thread was disheartening, to say the least. It prompted me to wonder if getting my PhD is going to end up being worth it.

I love the process of history; I’m doing my thesis right now, and it’s been one of the most enjoyable experiences in my undergrad career. I would love to be in academia, to do research, to teach. I also have enjoyed my time as a tutor and shadowing teachers in the St. Louis Public School District and, though the work is tiring and the pay isn’t great, I can also envision myself as a social studies teacher.

I guess what I’m wondering is, if I don’t get into a top program, should I even bother doing the PhD? I’m also applying to TFA-like programs and for a masters in history education. I’d love to know your thoughts. 

HG--