Sign in to follow this  
LittleShakespeare90

My 2019 PhD in English Application

Greetings, all.

I just started my account today here. I've had some friends from grad school swear by this site, so I figured I'd give it a go.

I graduated with a BA in English in 2012, and I got my MA in English from NYU. I graduated back in 2014. For the last four years, I've been teaching high school English. My original plan is to go into academia, but I took a break to save up some money and defeat my debt.

I know for sure that I want to study gender politics in twentieth century modernism. That's what my thesis was on. My NYU professor taught that class, and when we spoke recently, he told me to go for it. He will also write me a letter of recommendation.

I do have some concerns though. I'd appreciate the advice.

GRE

I know it's a bit late in the summer, but I think I have to retake my GRE. The last time I took it (2 years ago, I think), I scored a 5.5 on analytical writing, 153 in verbal, and 145 in quantitative. I know I'll be busy with my job in two weeks, but I'm planning to take this intensive GRE course to help me boost that score. I was away this summer, so I didn't get a chance to study.

Letters of Recommendation

I do have another professor from NYU whose class I took on American Modernism 1900-1945. She has been really difficult to reach by email since she was traveling a lot on sabbatical. When she comes back next week, I will stop by during office hours to ask her. For my third letter, I have a professor from undergrad who supervised my honors thesis in 2011. I may try to get a fourth one just to be on the safe side, right? I have another professor from undergrad (my core literary seminar course) whom I would like to ask.

Publications

I'm not yet published, so I wonder if this will be a roadblock. A few of my colleagues in New York have mentioned that publications are essential to getting an acceptance. Thoughts?