Fall 2019 Applicants

phonotactless

hey all, I noticed there wasn't a thread like this for linguistics yet and I wanted to connect with other people working on their applications!

I graduated from my undergrad this summer and am currently taking a gap year to save some money. I'm planning on applying to Ohio State, Stanford, UPenn, CU Boulder, Michigan, and Northwestern, and my focus is sociophonetics, and phonology/phonetics more broadly. (and by now my spellcheck really should recognise sociophonetics as a word, tbh.) 

where are you applying?

Hey! I'm applying for programs that offer computational linguistics as a subfield. I'm applying to UT Austin, Rochester, Stanford, Georgetown, U Washington, Indiana, CU Boulder and Brandeis. Hopefully that's not too many or too few schools haha. Good luck!!

As someone who also took a gap year, I think the time away from school has helped me create a more fleshed out and realistic plan for the future. I was intending to specialize in syntax/psycholing and apply for PhD programs, but for various reasons I've gotten cold feet about the PhD process and no longer believe that I have the internal fortitude to go through with it.

That being said, I did well in an upper level computational ling course during my final semester and really enjoyed the machine learning and NLP courses offered at NASSLLI this summer. So I'm going to apply to a few master's programs in comp ling that I think have particularly good career outcomes, namely Edinburgh, Brandeis, Rochester (my hometown), and Washington. There are a few others that I'm eyeing up but not so sure about, those being Stony Brook, Syracuse, and CUNY Graduate Center.

If anyone has any advice or personal experience with those programs (applying, financing, general atmosphere of the program, professors), please feel free to chime in or pm me. Good luck everyone!

• 2 weeks later...

Good luck to everyone applying for Fall 2019.