2019 Canadian SLP Thread

Hi everyone!

I haven't seen a 2019 thread for us Canadians applying to SLP yet. Just curious to know where everyone is applying to and what your background is!

I am from Concordia University, finishing up my second BA, and I will be applying all over -- McGill, OttawaU, UofT, McMasters, and Western. I'm hoping I have a chance of getting in, my GPA from this program is a 3.67, although my first BA was under a 3.0.  I work as an ABA therapist and have a ton of diverse volunteering, including with a SLP. I keep seeing acceptances in the US to students with a much lower GPA, so I'm really not sure what to expect.

I'm in the middle of writing my SOP and the character limits from McGill and UofT are seriously throwing me off. Any suggestions?

Hey! I am applying to the SLP program at Western. Honestly I'm not holding out a lot of hope that I'll get in this time around. My GPA is roughly a 3.3 - 3.4, so I don't think I'll make it through due to the competitive GPAs of other applicants and the admittance numbers. But I also have a lot of volunteering experience in various areas; I volunteer with children in school as a mentor, I volunteer at a Distress Centre, and I am volunteering with an SLP at a children's centre as well. I heard having lived in another country is a plus, which I've done (student exchange to Germany), and I also know a second language and have beginner's knowledge of a third. Right now I'm working as a community support worker... Sigh. I dunno. I will have some good reference letters and am working on what will hopefully be a funny, memorable personal statement. I'm just really hoping they look at everything combined and not my GPA alone, because then maybe I stand a chance. I'm taking more uni classes in the new year, trying to be proactive regarding my GPA, so that if I don't make it through this time, hopefully the second time around I do.