Hi everyone! I have my first interview this Tuesday and Wednesday and wanted to create a place where we can debrief after the interviews. We can share anything from what everyone wore to actual questions and itineraries, as well as hopes and fears post-interview. Hopefully comparing notes will help ease anxieties!

Any tips for the interview process? I have my first one coming up and I’m extremely nervous about it especially since this is my first time applying! Is your interview for PsyD or PhD?

My first time applying as well! I did an interview in December and wish I came across this sooner:

I found this while checking out the 2018 threads, and found these to be similar to the questions I was asked in my interview. Clinical Psychology Potential Interview Questions: http://www2.tulane.edu/sse/psyc/news-and-events/archive/upload/InterviewQuestions.pdf Thought this might be a good starting point!

Edited by Mickey26

5 minutes ago, checkingmyemail said:

I found this to be an excellent resource. It talks about the whole process, but Section 3 is specifically for interviews: 

Section 3: I Just Got an Interview for a Clinical Psychology Doctoral Program What do I do?!

Thank you!!! I’ll take a look for sure. So nerve wracking??

I know it's nerve-wracking, but remember, out of all the applicants you made it onto the short list! You've already impressed them on paper. Just go in confident that you would be an asset and talk about your interests, goals, and why you think x school is right for you. Most of the questions I remember being asked about my goals and why I wanted a doctorate, my experiences, and my research interests. Another tip is be friendly! Even with your "competition." The students and faculty will notice the people that are friendly with their potential cohortmates and those who are standoffish. Also, I interviewed with a student as well, and I think being as professional with them as your POI or any other faculty is also super important.