Another "help me with plan B" thread :(

dancedementia

Soooo.

I got rejected from my top choice (NEU) and am pretty sure I'm not getting into my second choice (Suffolk). I've either been rejected, declined interviews, or waitlisted all other funded programs on my application list. I am holding two offers from Antioch University and William James, both PsyD programs with a large price tag.

I'm an older applicant, so emotionally I want to just take one of those offers and get going with my life. I went into this application cycle thinking I wanted to do primarily clinical work, which is why most of my programs are PsyD or balanced PhD programs. But as I've gone to these schools and spoken with POIs, I'm realizing that hey - I actually want to do research.

I have several years of research experience, but not in one lab (just lots of small projects with multiple PIs), so I know what I'm getting into and I know I enjoy it. I think I got a little jaded this past year because I was running a study that was going NOWHERE and I said "screw research". But talking with POIs about their projects, brainstorming ideas, etc... it made me want to go back to that.

So current options are...

• Say screw research, take one of my PsyD offers, and get on with life.
  • Look for full time research coordinator positions, work for 1-2 years, and reapply
  • Work a full time clinical job (I have my masters degree so I can provide therapy) and volunteer for research on the side

The biggest considerations are:

1. My PsyD offers have very little funding (I've gotten scholarships from both but they're like... 20% of my tuition lol)
  2. If I work as a research coordinator for 1-2 years and then apply, I'm going to be 40 when I graduate with my PhD. Ehhhhhhh.