OK, let's talk about UChicago's MAPH. I need some advice...

I've seen a lot of posts on Gradcafe where people say MAPH is a cash cow, that professors give MAPHers less attention, that the program isn't even super competitive (that they let a good number in because they are willing to pay). I wanted to ask, is UChicago's MAPH the real deal? I'm feeling really proud to get into such a great institution, but I'm hearing all this talk about how it's a makeshift degree at a first-rate university...  I got a 10,500 dollar scholarship, but that's a small dent in overall expenses if I decide to go.  I studied poli sci in undergrad, and thought MAPH would be a great way to transition to English lit as a PHD.  

If I decide to go to MAPH I don't want to feel like an impostor, and I wanted to know if getting in is comparable to people who got into specific discipline MAs in Chicago (MA in Philosophy, English, etc.).

Edited by StarkDark1

the bottom line is that there are fully funded masters programs and unless it’s necessary to go this year, it’s usually a wider financial decision to just apply again the next year (unless you’re personally wealthy). there’s no program an maph from chicago will get you into that people don’t already get into without having an ma at all. 

I mean, the Chicago MA is a year, right? Let’s say you have the money or inclination to take out loans and you did do it— are you going to apply for a PhD program and ask for letters from people who have known you for 6 weeks? Would you complete the program, then take a gap year to apply? It honestly doesn’t actually seem like a great transition timeline-wise. 

Otherwise, I don’t know much about Chicago’s program, but it would make sense if the professors don’t care too much about MA students. You would be competing with PhD students who have years to cultivate relationships with professors, whereas the MA students are basically a revolving door.