Sign in to follow this  
LittleShakespeare90

Wanting to go back to school, but unsure of what career path to take.

Greetings, all. 

I've been doing some career and soul searching for the past few months, and I think I wanted to discuss my prospects with fellow graduate students. I'd appreciate any feedback. 

I was a high school English teacher for a number of years, but I despised the job. I did recently work for a bad district, but even when I worked at a top-notch district, I was still unhappy. I'm normally an introvert, so being around students all day and needing to be "on" all the time was very exhausting. I had frequent panic attacks, and my school days were spent waiting for summer. In turn, my summer vacations were agonized by the mere thought of going back to school. 

I do have an MA in English, and for a long time, I was thinking of going back to school for a PhD. It was always my dream to become a professor, but after teaching high school and hating it, I'm not sure if teaching college students would be any different. Is there anything else I can do with a PhD in English, or is it geared more towards pedagogy? I know this sounds ignorant, but I'm genuinely curious.

As for other career prospects, I've thought about library science, but there's such a stigma around it. My career center mentioned that library science is a dying industry. At the same time, I'm not sure if I want to be a librarian. What are the pros and cons of the profession? 

Lastly, I have this strong inclination to go towards publishing. The idea of sitting in a quiet office, revising books, marketing books, and just indulging in my love for the written word, sounds like the perfect job for me. I did find a wonderful program at Pace University in New York that offers an MS in Publishing. NYU also has another one. I just feel bad about getting a second master's, only because that would mean sacrificing the PhD.