Is it possible to get into an English PhD program with an MA in Humanities?

Hello, everyone.

I hope this message finds you all well and that you're staying safe. I've been doing so much thinking, and my heart is still set on getting a PhD in English. I know I shouldn't be thinking about it, especially since I've been blessed with a high school teaching job and an adjunct teaching gig, but I want more. I want to go into academia and make an impact with my love for the written word.

I have a Master's degree in Humanities from NYU, but I was toying with the idea of going back to graduate school for a second master's degree, one in English. A lot of people have told me it will be overkill and that it's not a good idea, but then some other people tell me it will benefit me in the long run. I did have a wonderful experience at NYU, and I'd love to go back for their English Department, but I'm not sure if I should pursue another master's degree.

I did get into a PhD program at Temple University, which is a wonderful school, but they didn't give me funding. This is giving me some hope that perhaps I can get into a PhD program with my current master's. Overall, I would love to hear some advice. Thank you in advance. Stay safe, everyone! I've been using this time to catch up on my reading! :P 

If you are set on getting the PhD, then I agree that a second MA might not be very helpful (especially if you'd have to pay for it). Perhaps taking the time to speak to your professors/advisors/other graduate students and focus on preparing the strongest PhD applications you can manage would suit you better. If you don't mind my asking, what is pulling you toward a second MA, specifically, if you already know you want to go on to a PhD? 

11 hours ago, onerepublic96 said: