MSW.K

Hello All!

I am starting the application process for MSW programs for Fall 2021. I am applying to a wide range of schools in CA, Boston, NY, and more. 

I created this post to discuss the application process, decision, stats and any insight anyone can share. Has anyone else stated the MSW app process? 

Kelly :) 

Hi @MSWKelly ! I spent the summer attending information sessions and have narrowed my selection to 3-4 schools.  Most have a priority deadline of February, except one which is in December. Since I am applying as an advanced standing student I am aiming to have all of my applications in by  December/ early January. 

How many schools do you plan on applying to? I tried to stay local to where I am, especially living in a COVID-19 world. 

@LML2021 hey! That's great. I am trying to attend more virtual webinars this month. So I have a list of about 15 right now that I am narrowing down. (lol)

I have a lot of California schools on my list and a few in Boston and New York.  I think I definitely want to apply to a solid 10 schools. I am starting to work on apps and getting LOR's this month and want to hopfully be done in Novemeber/December. 

I am from California and would be happy with EC or CA. I think it would be nice to live on the EC for a change. 

Hi! I have narrowed my list down to three schools after researching and contemplating since June. UMD is my top choice because of the convenience to where I currently live and the opportunities for field placement in the area.

I haven't been able to attend any info sessions yet but plan to do so throughout September. Have the info sessions been useful for you? What kind of questions do you usually ask? @MSWKelly @LML2021

The regular deadline for UMD isn't until March 15, but their app opens on September 1. I'm planning to ask for letters of recommendation in September and apply by late Oct/early Nov.

What does a typical timeline looks like for requesting letters of rec. look like?