Going back to graduate school after a terrible mistake...

Hello, everyone.

Back in 2012, I graduated with a BA in English. I then went on to pursue a Master of Arts degree, but it wasn't in English. It was in interdisciplinary humanities. I had this wonderful opportunity to study English literature at Rutgers Newark (New Jersey), but instead, I went to NYU. Looking back, I realize that I went there for the wrong reasons. I just wanted the name. I took several classes that were irrelevant to my field of study. I also did not develop close relationships with the professors. I was a commuter and it was just easy to chunk together the classes that fit my schedule, not the ones that were relevant to my course of study. 

I even wrote a terrible master's thesis. Looking back, I feel that it was just rubbish. I didn't have an advisor, nor do I even know how it was accepted, but I was lucky enough to graduate with a Master of Arts degree from NYU's Draper Program in 2014. 

Ever since my graduation, I've been struggling to get into a PhD program. My ultimate goal is to get into a funded PhD program to study literature. However, I'm having a tough time, especially with this competitive job market, as well as my weak application. Perhaps my recommendation letters weren't strong enough.

I just feel like NYU was a waste of money. I'm an optimist, so I will always look to the bright side; I did learn a lot about myself while I was there, and I did take away a lot from the classes I took. Still, I keep thinking that I should go back for a second master's degree. There are so many books I haven't read, so many theories and criticisms that I never learned. I would like a second chance at graduate school.

For the past five years, I've been working as a high school English teacher. I love my job wholeheartedly, but someday, I still would like to go for a PhD. I want to go back for a second master's, but I guess I'm having trouble deciding. Can you help me out?