Hello, everyone.

I got an acceptance yesterday for a PhD in English. I'm a bit nervous about something though. 

I am a high school English teacher, and I do love my job very much. Still, I've always wanted a PhD in English, as it has always been a personal goal of mine. Someday, I also hope to teach at the college-level. 

I have until April 15th to accept this offer of admission. It is partially funded, and when I talked about this with my school (where I work), they said they will pay for the rest of the tuition.

I want to take it, but I'm scared because I want to pursue this degree part-time. The PhD program does offer the opportunity to pursue the degree part-time, but I'm just worried if the classes won't fit into my work schedule or if it's not a good idea to pursue the degree part-time.

I look forward to hearing your advice. Thanks so much. 

Firstly, congratulations on your offer. 

Take my opinion with a pinch of salt but I'm still, even in your situation, of the opinion that you should only pursue a PhD if it is fully funded. In terms of your current workplace paying for part of your tuition, I can see that being a potentially messy situation... But of course I don't know your current situation as well as you do ( or if you would be willing/able to pursue a programme full-time), nor do I know the ins and outs of the programme (is it local? would it be online? is there any required residency? based on their stats is a tenure track position after graduating feasible?). Also, this is definitely subjective but I personally couldn't imagine pursuing such an intense degree around a full time job.

Others are probably more qualified to comment than me, but I would definitely consider this very carefully. 

Edited by queenofcarrotflowers

Two cents from an older applicant: