Interested in applying for the Fall 2022 Application Cycle, but which degree?

Hello, everyone.

I feel a bit frazzled, and I was wondering if I could seek your advice once more. I have received such incredible feedback from the forum users here. It's just been so nice having other people to talk to that are in my shoes.

I am a high school English teacher and adjunct professor. I do love my jobs, but I want to further my education. I actually got an acceptance letter to a university for a PhD in English. It was supposed to be partially funded, but I just received word this morning that I will actually be receiving no funding. They had to cut funding due to Covid. :( Of course, I don't want to attend if it's not going to be funded, so I rejected the offer.

I've been thinking a lot about what other users have told me about academia and the job market. I know getting a tenured job as a professor is a long-shot, but I still wish to further my education. I spoke to my supervisor of humanities at my school, as well as my professor at NYU, and they both said that perhaps I should think about getting my doctorate in English Education. Perhaps it will help me better service my high school and college students. 

I just feel so confused. I'm a little down in the dumps as well because of what happened with my funding offer, and I actually might not have a high school teaching job in September since my department is making cuts due to Covid. 

If it helps, here are my main goals: 

1. I would like to become more knowledgeable in literature, since my MA was in interdisciplinary humanities.

2. I want to research and make significant contributions to academia.

3. I don't mind teaching high school now, but in the future, when I'm older, I would like the chance to move up. 

What degree should I pursue? Please help me out. Thanks in advance.