Edinburgh, UK

Diotima

Thoughts on the city? What residential areas are too far to walk/bike from George Square? I read that it can be a bit difficult to rent a private flat coming from North America because one doesn't have British credit...anyone have experience with this? Also, I'm married and would likely be there for 4-5 years, so, what have others done in terms of bringing possessions or furniture overseas?

• 1 year later...

Hi there,

I realize you've probably already started your program given the date of your post but I thought this might help future students. I did my Master's at Edinburgh and it's a fantastic city. I lived on the edge of Stockbridge and New Town. It's a very nice area but kind of a long walk to the uni (40 minutes give or take) but there are a few different buses that drop you off right at the university. It was about a 15 minute walk to Princes Street, which is the central road that divides New Town from Old Town. I never had a car and never had much use for one as the bus system is very good. The University is in Old Town and it's generally cheaper rent-wise, but there are some parts that aren't very nice. If it's financially viable, I would avoid the Leith area. There are some nicer parts (The Shore is up-and-coming and Ocean Terminal is a brand new mall out there) but there are some very bad neighborhoods and it's quite far from the uni.

I wouldn't bring any furniture or big ticket items with you unless you just can't live without them. There are lots of fully furnished flats available (that includes everything from beds, a sofa and a washing machine to cutlery, plates and glasses) and shipping is insanely expensive. In my opinion it's not worth it even if you will be living there for a number of years.