German, Fall 2011

Kursteilnehmer

I applied to Yale, Northwestern, and NYU, and a couple Comp. Lit. places as well. (I'm mostly interested in the Aesthetics of the Frankfurt School.)

Any idea how competitive things are this year or anything like that? I regret not applying to Chicago or Princeton--I just found myself too stressed trying to manage those applications I had already undertaken earlier in the year, while also working full-time. Good luck in any case.

No idea about competitiveness, unfortunately. I also applied to Michigan, Cornell, Berkeley and Princeton. I was a little bit hesitant to make any definitive statements about what I wanted to study other than broad sketches, as a professor I spoke to suggested that for big, comprehensive programs (Berkeley, Yale, Princeton, etc.) they preferred to see something like "German cinema" and not "Expressionism in Weimar Film" .

[A] professor I spoke to suggested that for big, comprehensive programs (Berkeley, Yale, Princeton, etc.) they preferred to see something like "German cinema" and not "Expressionism in Weimar Film" .

interesting, yes. i found it very difficult to put out my interests while remaining sufficiently liberal. hm, i imagine NYU and Northwestern will be far more responsive to my case than Yale... but i don't know. it's all so soul crushing, applying

• 2 weeks later...

applied to NYU and Northwestern. Also Johns Hopkins, Berkeley, Princeton and Stanford. I listed my general interests in my CV and focussed on one specific topic in my SOP. I hope they'll take a look at the cv! Have also no idea about how hard the competition is, but all the people (at these schools) I've been talking to told me that they're gonna take 3-6 students for the PhD-program. Guess there are at least 3 top notch applications on the desk of every app-com to compete against :(

But I can't start the negative thinking already!!

Good luck to me and all you other guys!

Edited by uldo