UC Berkeley

Tabletop Joe

Anybody out there? I'm a History student specializing in East-Central Europe, starting fall of 2011. I'd love to meet some of my fellow Berkeley newbies, regardless of department. Anything anyone can tell me about the area beyond what's available in the City Guide forum would be appreciated, too...

I lived in Berkeley for four years as an undergrad. It's a nice city, one can find just about anything one can be into, while most graduate students do live off campus probably for the same reasons. The campus is largely dived into the "north-side" which tends to be more quieter and family oriented, whereas the south-side is much more student oriented. Most of the dorms are in the southside along with the fraternities/sororities and livelier side of campus. In Telegraph there is Amoebas and Rasputin music stores, plenty of local fast food places to eat with quite a variety: Indian, Korean, Italian, Chinese, Mexican food... ect Also People's Park is located on Telegraph, Moe's Bookstore, Mediterranean Cafe, plenty of smoke shops and pubs such as Blakes, Raleighs, Kips, and on campus the Bear's Lair. It all depends what you are into. I am sure you will find Berkeley to be quite an interesting place.

Berkeley is awesome. I really like it. There's tons of great food and lots of things to do: music, art, Tilden park, book stores etc. As the poster above mentioned, Moe's is a huge, used bookstore on Telegraph, a few blocks from campus and it's great. North Berkeley is a lot quieter, and further up Shattuck, there are other great restaurants too. rent is a bit more pricey in Berkeley, than in Oakland, but if you look on craigslist, you should be able to find a good housing situation! Congrats on your acceptance!!