Ottawa, Ontario

cndngrl21

Anyone have information about Ottawa? I will be moving there for fall 2011.

I completed my undergraduate degree at the University of Ottawa - I grew up in the city. It's one of those places that you can't really fall in love with unless you've grown up there and it's kind of boring, but that depends where you're from too. U of O is located downtown close to the market and the Rideau Centre so it's quite convenient and the campus, despite having rarely any greenery, isn't bad. It has a lot of students and a major university vibe and there's always something going on (especially with the Telfer School of Management Kids and the Communications Students Association).

In terms of going out, Ottawa's nightlife is meh. I used to venture out to Bank Street to Babylon and Barrymore's. Sometimes for shows, sometimes for Mod Night. There's also Zaphod's (although I heard lately it's been pretty awful), the Manx on Elgin and The Dominion. You should avoid the market clubs at all costs, unless you like guys with spiky hair, white shoes, and too much testosterone.

Centretown is a nice neighbourhood. Ottawa has loads of coffee shops - try Bridgehead, everything they serve is fantastic. Other ones of note: Wellington West Village is really up and coming, lots of theatre, nice shops, walkable (unlike most of Ottawa). Preston (Little Italy) is also great. Sussex Drive is nice for a walk and there's some nice shopping there. Stop by the courtyard and go to my favourite cafe in the entire city "Planet Coffee". It's well known, kind of hidden, nice patio, but the bad part is they have no internet. Go for the vibe not the coffee.

If you're looking for some shopping, there's a few shops down Dalhousie Street. The area is still in the midst of gentrification but you may find some great pieces by some Canadian and other intl designers at Victoire Boutique.