Doubt over recommendation provider

lilith142

I am in a really weird situation right now, thought I should post it up somewhere and get opinions.

I was developing my master's thesis into a scientific paper and I got no help from my supervisor, she was not at all concerned about it. I wrote it all by myself. Later she said, she wanted to be the second author and would help me out.

After I started applying to universities, I asked her to be my recommendation provider, which she agreed to. This was pure out of courtesy, as I wanted her to help me out.

I sent notifications to her 2 months before the deadline, a month before, every week and twice a day of the last week, till ultimately, I got my Mom (imagine my embarrassment) to call her and ask her to send it in.

For my last application, I begged her to send it in. I told her the last date was 25th Jan (it was actually 1st Feb). Now the recommendation was supposed to be sent by email to the university, and I don't have any notification that it has been sent. So now my 'Prof' said she has forgotten if she had sent it in. When I asked her to check, she says I better look for another recommendation provider.

I am thinking she might not have sent a good recommendation to the universities. Is it possible for me to call up and ask them to remove her recco and then I can ask another professor who knows me well, to submit a new one? I really am disturbed right now, I just applied to 4 univs and I don't want it to be ruined.

Oh sweet minty jesus. I'm really sorry to hear that you've been having such a hard time! I'm not sure about asking them to disregard a recommendation that they have already received, but do you have someone lined up to send a supplemental recommendation to bolster your application?

It probably depends how far into reviewing the applications they are whether or not it's possible. As someone else observed, lots of the online apps have the option of deleting a recommender.