Troy, NY

Guest Samantha

Guest Samantha

I got my undergraduate degree from RPI in 2003, and might go back there this fall if they let me. So if there's anyone considering going there, I can offer info and answer questions. Russel Sage College is in Troy, NY too, so if you're going there, I can answer general questions about the area. But from the "results" page it doesn't look like many are going to either :)

Guest Pedro

Samantha,

I got accepted for the Comp. Sci. PhD program at RPI. I would love to ask you some questions if you don't mind. Could you please email me

(diazjimenez [AT] gmail.com). Thanks!

Guest guest

I am wondering what life is like in Troy, how is the campus and such... any info you could give on how you liked it an things to do would be great.

Guest Samantha

I'll just rehash what I emailed to Pedro.

The campus is nice. The buildings are mostly from the early 1900's and most have that green copper roof style. Everything's pretty close together, so you are never really more than a 5 minute walk from your next class. The computing resources are also excellent. I spent a lot of my time in the 24-hour computer lab that is housed in an old cathedral. It's got almost 100 machines and is usually pretty empty from about 5pm on. All undergrads have their own laptops so they don't use the labs that much. My laptop sucked, so I definitely was there a lot though. RPI got an unrestricted $360 million anonymous donation a few years back, and they've been improving accordingly. There's a newly built biotechnology center, parking garage, and they're working on a performing arts center thing. Why they think an engineering school needs one of those, I'll never understand. Looks interesting, though.