MIT

fosgfp

Hey future MIT-ers. (Well, I am probably attending, still finalizing). Thought I'd make a thread for us.

My question--

Where do you think you'll live next year? I am leaning towards an apartment rather than grad housing. Thoughts?

Hey there! Accepted MIT's offer today.

I am leaning towards off-campus housing too, but not entirely sure whether it's the best idea considering I'm an international student and might be getting there just before classes start. However, as compared to on-campus housing, it seems more economical. Any thoughts?

I am leaning towards off-campus housing too, but not entirely sure whether it's the best idea considering I'm an international student and might be getting there just before classes start. However, as compared to on-campus housing, it seems more economical. Any thoughts?

Hey! Where are you coming from??

I am leaning towards off campus for a few reasons (order of following reasons is not a ranking):

1) I can pick a more exact location

2) I can pick my roommates

3) All MIT housing is furnished except for one dorm and I want to bring my own furniture

4) the MIT housing I saw was very small and not very homey

5) off campus is cheaper or about the same price

I've been browsing craiglist and it seems there are a lot of options... thinking of contacting some people in the next two months and then visiting at the end of pay and picking out a place.

Hi all! Just accepted my offer yesterday and I'm pretty excited about moving to Cambridge/Somerville/Boston. I've had close friends in the Boston area for awhile now and here's my two cents about on- vs. off-campus: