Fat-Friendly Campuses?

dania201

Okay, I'll admit that I've put on weight since undergrad (not telling you how much, but trust me it's a lot). As embarrassing as it is, my size right now means that I should be looking at schools that will be better at accommodating someone like me. For those who haven't thought about it, its really useful for someone who is larger to be at a campus where there would be things like seating that works for people of size (no armrests and not flimsy), as well as minimal walking (right now I need to rest after 20-30 paces or so), and a culture that isn't going to look down on me for being this size (or that I'm going to have to be left out of things because everyone else is so 'active').

I do feel a little embarrassed about it, because I was an athlete in undergrad and was way into the fitness thing back then. I also know from recent visits to my alma mater (Penn) that it is not at all the kind of campus that would work for me now. So I need help with this. Any thoughts would be welcome, especially from other women of size! 

Thanks! :)

Edited by dania201

I'm not sure if it's really possible to say which places are accessible at the entire campus level. Environments can vary a lot between a single department/program. For example, my program is only one floor and not very large. The most anyone has to walk from one office/classroom to another is probably something like 100m and that's only if you are going from one end to another. The classrooms in our building are conference room style--no giant lecture halls. There are chairs (with and without armrests) and several rows of long tables (no annoying flip-desk thing that is attached to a seat).