So, you (think you) want a PhD in Social Work?

Let me start by saying that I am so glad I took this path. I love my job. I love being a professor. And when I hate being a professor I love being a researcher. And when I hate being a researcher I love university-supported travel. There's always something new and good. I am so happy that I am no longer working on "the line" (although I miss it some days and romanticize the brilliant work I did with clients).  I love working with and inspiring students (most of them at least, on most days).

Here are some things to know.

1. Money: PhD-level positions make about the same as MSW positions. PhD work may come with more perks, status, and flexibility. But don't do it for a fat raise. Most faculty positions start in the 50-60k range (9 month contracts, but you typically will not make your regular salary during summer months). Think about the salary climbing you would have done if you stayed in the field instead of going back to school.

2. Loans: Even if you get an awesome paid GRA and tuition waiver, if you take out a modest $20k a year for 5 years of grad school, you've got a $100k loan at graduation. Yes, you can do income-based repayment for most jobs with 10-year loan forgiveness. Remember that they consider your household/partner's income to calculate 10% salary for payments.

3. Time and commitment: Most programs say that you can graduate in 3 years. Technically, yes. Almost nobody does. As with most PhD programs, I started in a small cohort of students (about 12) and 25% of us graduated after five years. The others did not graduate at all. The average time to PhD (all fields, and social sciences) is 7 years (http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/infbrief/nsf06312/).  Half of people leave PhD programs before graduating (http://chronicle.com/article/PhD-Attrition-How-Much-Is/140045/).