Canadian student in USA - paying taxes w/ income from both countries

mifter

Hi all, I've searched through the forums (and the internet) for help with this, but without much luck.

Here is my situation: I am PhD student in the US who has an NSERC fellowship (income from Canada) that is supplemented by income from the university where I work/study (NSERC funding < guaranteed stipend at the university). Thus, I have income from both countries. I want to know if anyone has been in the position before, and how they filed taxes. Is this familiar to anyone? Does anyone have/ever seek legitimate help from an accountant with cross-border knowledge?

Thanks for any help,

MC

I am in this position too (w/SSHRC), and I'm sure that there are thousands of others out there living on a dual stipend. This is my first year, so I haven't figured out what's going to happen entirely yet. I know that I'll have to file in both countries this year anyways (I had income and paid tuition in Canada before coming down to the states, plus the US is pretty unforgiving in its protocols for J1s). The year after that, who knows? I will do whatever the tax software tells me.

Anyone have any experience on the matter?

I have direct experience on this matter, however, I am away at a conference right now and will provide more details for both of you next week. PM me if I forget :) It is complicated but I heard the hard way and I can help!

Okay I am back.

If you are a Canadian citizen and you are in the US for school you are a "deemed resident for tax purposes". When filing taxes as a resident, you must always file all your international income. Therefore, while you are a grad student, you will always file taxes to Canada, no matter what country pays you and what country you live in.